Half Marathon Race Report

Last Monday I ran my 6th Half Marathon, and although I was quite optimistic about the race, it did not go exactly according to plan. My PR on the Half Marathon in 2.00.30, and even though it’s only numbers, I really wanted to run the Utrecht Half Marathon in under 2 hours.

I was very exited to run. When I arrived in Utrecht I immediately felt that the atmosphere was very good. I was so happy when the race took off! I felt really strong and finished the first 11 kilometres of the race in 59 minutes. I forced myself to slow down, but around the 16th kilometre my body was done, and went into a strike. My stomach started to turn itself around, I felt sick and suddenly I could not even breathe properly anymore! The last few kilometres were really tough, and in the end I did not make my two hour goal.

I was really disappointed that I had missed my goal by more than 4 minutes. I think I started off with a pace that I could not only not keep up with, but that also caused me to break down in the final kilometres. I really should have started of easier, but it is so hard to slow down when you feel like you can conquer the world…

But also I think that part of the key to a <2.00.00 race is losing a few kilos of bodyweight. I am currently at a healthy weight, but the next 3 weeks I will try to lose a few (maybe 2 or 3) kilo. Training-wise I will incorporate more of the much hated interval training sessions, and try to keep doing the slow long runs. In 3 weeks from now I will run another half marathon (a small local one) and if I manage to keep up with my training (at least 3 times a week) and really watch my weight, I really should be able to finally finally break that 2 hour mark.

Leave a Reply

